"French Street Performers are like Mastercard – They’re everywhere you want to be!" by Fabiani Duarte

I once read that at the end of a street entertainer performance he explained to an onlooker, “If you give me one euro, I’ll go home very happy. If you give me 10 euros, I’ll go home very, very happy. If you give me 50 euros, I’ll go home with you!”

Street musicians, magicians performing on sidewalks, and performers entertaining passersby are no new phenomenon to the US where cities like New Orleans, New York, San Francisco, Los Angeles, & Chicago feature numerous artists year-round. Nonetheless, “les musiciens des rues” are one of those integral aspects of the French experience that add the perfect musical touch or mood to walk over a Parisian bridge, stroll through a quaint alley in Aix, or dinner with someone special. From accordion players to small dance ensembles to men and women of all ages showcasing their special talent, the street performers that are speckled throughout every city we’ve visited in France are irreplaceable components of the l’ambiance française.